I Don’t Drink

It happens pretty often that I’ll be reading some blog or other and someone will mention that they had a beer, or wine.  Or I’ll be at someone’s house and they’ll have a drink, when we’re just sitting there talking or playing a game.  Or whatever.  And it always jars me.

I don’t drink alcohol, for two reasons.  One is that I’m on meds that lead to badness when combined with it; I like my kidneys functioning, thanks ever so, and intend to keep “renal failure” a phrase that applies only to other people.  The other is, I just don’t like the stuff and never have.  It tastes rotten to me.

This makes me feel like I’m missing out on something.  Like alcohol is just something grownups are supposed to do; since I don’t do it, I’m not a grownup.

Leave a Reply

