Beer Budget

I am not the type to get obsessed with shoes.  As a rule, I wear the least shoe I can get away with, which means usually ballet flats outside and socks or barefoot at home.  So, last night when Liam wanted to go into Little’s in Squirrel Hill, I took the opportunity to go in with him and try on a pair of Vibram Five Fingers–these are shoes with very minimal soles, just enough to keep rocks and glass out of your feet, and a separate bit for each toe.  They look kind of silly, but they were very comfortable.

Then I wandered around looking at other shoes, and a pattern developed: if I saw a pair and shrugged, it was cheap.  If I saw a pair and really liked it, it was expensive.  My favorite pair¹of all the ones I saw was on the cheap end of the range, actually, at $98; there is no way I can justify a hundred bucks for a pair of high heels, which I hardly wear.  If I’m gonna spend real money on shoes, it should be practical ones.

Nonetheless, I loved the shoes.

1: The ones I tried on were the grey with blue ribbon, but I think I like the black with grey even better.

2 Responses to “Beer Budget”

  1. marybeth Says:

    Heh. If it’s any comfort, my last pair of Vibrams lasted me a whole spring-summer-fall before developing a hole in one toe, and I wear through my shoes faster because I’m heavier – they scuff faster. I bet you could totally get a pair to last two years, if that makes you feel any better 🙂

    So far this pair isn’t thinning out as fast, I think I managed to catch the toe that wore through last year so it’ll keep a bit longer.

  2. opusanglicanum Says:

    I kind of like shoes as art. I have a dozen pairrs of handmade victorian silk boots, whci i do wear sometimes, but which I display along with my irregular choice heels in my grnadmothers old china cabinet in my living room.


Leave a Reply

