Design Oddities

What I don’t get is why so many people choose blog styles that make their own entries the least important part of the layout.  You get two sidebars with buttons and links and implements of destruction, and background outside the sidebars, and the blog entires themselves take up maaaaybe a quarter of the width of the browser.  And everything’s all colorful and bright and blinking, except the actual content of the blog–though sometimes they pick weird fonts.

Why do this?  I assume that people who come to my blog are doing it so they can read, you know, my blog.  I supply links and things because I’m not the one-stop shop for all things entertaining, sure, but I would think that if you wanted to read the Yarn Harlot‘s blog and not mine, you’d just go straight there.

One Response to “Design Oddities”

  1. Encrazed Crafts Says:

    “I dunno Max, it’s just… every time I got to the Rockin’ Bobbin, I just *love* their choice in advertisement! I can’t help myself!”

    It’s the equivalent to saying you read Playboy for the articles ^_^


Leave a Reply

