Prep

OK.  I have three stolae, and fabric for one more.  I only have one tunica, but I can probably get another yard or two  of linen over the weekend; one yard of 54″ fabric makes a quite nice tunica for me.   Luckily the stolae can pretend to be chitons if the tunica is dirty. I’ll take my good shift, bodice and skirt, but I should really take the bodice in an inch or two because I got it before the weight loss.  The black shift dress, otherwise known as “really fancy for the Dark Ages”, will go for cool evenings.  I don’t know as I’m going to have an event fancy enough to require the blue bliaut or the red cotehardie, but in both cases the underpinnings need to be washed so I should look into that.  My cloak will go up, but more as extra bedding than because I’m going to need it otherwise.  My odds of obtaining tropical-weight wool to make strophia from before War are nil, so that’s a project for next year, but I think I might be able to manage a second palla.

I need to put buttonholes in Liam’s new red Chinese thingie, and look into fixing one or two of his tunics.  Perhaps I can hide the horrid Celtic knotwork tunic thing before he packs it?

Leave a Reply

