Conundrum

My old blog is going to be going away sometime fairly soon–I think at the end of this calendar year.  And there’s a lot of content over there, at least 1500 old posts.  I’ve transferred maybe 50 of them here, suitably backdated.  It’s tedious work, for a lot of reasons–filling in summaries, changing dates, adding tags to the old posts that didn’t have them (the vast majority).  There doesn’t seem to be any way at all of doing a mass grab-and-convert operation¹, either on Blog City’s end or WordPress’s, so if I want to save things I have to do it manually.  And I’m beginning to wonder if I have the energy for it.

I don’t want to lose all that old writing, but I don’t know how much of it I’m going to get in time.  Perhaps what I should do is go through and target the most important-to-me posts first, and then fill in?  That seems less efficient than just going straight through chronologically.

1: There is a way to have everything put into a file for me, but that won’t actually give me posts I can put here.

One Response to “Conundrum”

  1. Encrazed Crafts Says:

    Hmm. Might not be as automatic as ya’d like, but how about loading the main page and copying everyone post available. Then hit the ‘older posts’ button and copy all of those and paste them under the previous ones to keep em in order. Keep doing that and you can pretty quickly back up all the info. The only annoying bit would be pasting them individually and added the tags that you mentioned did not exist, but at least the backup process would be speedy.


Leave a Reply

