Why Did No One Tell Me?

This morning on my way to work I saw no fewer than three women in going-to-work clothes who were wearing flipflops; I shared the elevator in my building with a fourth.  Now, I’ll grant that in three cases they were “fancy” flipflops, in that the straps were made of gilded or otherwise decorated leather, but they were flipflops nonetheless.

I get that it’s summer; I get that the owners of the fancier versions probably think of the shoes as “sandals”.  But they aren’t; they’re flipflops.  When did the rules change such that the shoes I spent every summer of my childhood in are considered adequate for office wear?

Or am I just getting old?

Leave a Reply

