Sprouting

It’s a bad time of year for it, but I have a new plant growing–a pomegranate, to be precise.  After several years of failed attempts, one of the pomegranate seeds I stuck in the dirt has sprouted; it has its two baby leaves and is about an inch and a half tall.

Web consensus seems to be that pomegranates will grow in just about any soil, and that they are drought-tolerant but need good watering for the fruit to set properly.   I’m going to have to get a largish pot; it gets too cold around here for the plant to live outside all winter, so it’s going to have to be transportable (at least until I have a spot to build a greenhouse on).  As they’re self-pollinating, I don’t need to have two plants, which is good because I doubt I have space for two small trees in my house.  Even with one I’m going to have to do some bonsai, I expect.

Anyway, I’m psyched.  If I grow my own pomegranates, I don’t have to have them shipped from California.

Leave a Reply

