Score

One of the problems I’ve had with growing anything in my back courtyard is the fact that, despite the name, dirt is not dirt cheap.  I could build a couple of beds for pretty cheap, but then I’d need dirt to put in them.

But across the alley they’re putting in a garage in a spot that was landscaped to hell and gone (I’m kind of sad that the trees are coming out, but I can see why they’d rather have a garage), and there was a whole dumpster full of dirt last night.

Took me about a half an hour to come up with ~ten cubic feet of pretty nice topsoil, though I had to have help moving the containers afterwards.   I’m going to go out when I’m feeling more ambitious and check whether they’ve taken the dumpster away yet, but even if they have I’m not going to be sad.  I have enough dirt to get started with in the spring.

Posted in Gardening. Tags: , . 1 Comment »

One Response to “Score”

  1. Jenny Snyder Says:

    That is so cool. We’ll have to play the garden planning game together come Spring 🙂


Leave a Reply

