Playing Around

This is something I’ve been working on today:

I know this isn’t the best picture, for which I apologize, but my attempts to crop and edit it met with little success, so you get what came out of the camera.

The pattern’s called “cathedral windows”, and it’s made by doing some origami with the base fabric and then sewing the diamonds over the top.  Traditionally, the base fabric is white muslin and the diamonds are the colorful bits; I wanted to see what it would look like if I reversed that.  So far I think it’s coming out rather interesting.

The two diamonds that have their tips cut off aren’t actually in place yet; they’re only basted in.  And there are all sorts of little bits of white thread tacking things in place, and I have to fill in the half-diamonds on the sides at some point.  (Also, contrary to appearances, the diamonds aren’t the same color as the background; the flash washed them out and they’re actually cream with a tan vine pattern.)

I think this is going to be a pillow cover when I’m done, not that it matches anything in my house–but what else is new?

Leave a Reply

