I’ll Be Home for Christmas

I’ll be home for Christmas, you can count on me.
Please have snow, and mistletoe, and presents by the tree.
Christmas Eve will find me where the love-light gleams.
I’ll be home for Christmas if only in my dreams.
 
I doubt there’s a person in Western civilization who hasn’t heard that song this year, and there are probably a few who are already sick of it, for one very important reason: that’s the whole song.  There isn’t any more; those are all the words.  This means that, to get a decent-length song out of it, people sing the words, play a long musical interlude, and then sing the words again–or some other repetitive trick of similar effect.
 
This offends me deeply.  On the theory that I shouldn’t bitch unless I’m willing to do something about it, I present two more verses for I’ll Be Home for Christmas, and if I can come up with something I’ll write a bridge too.
 
I’ll be home for Christmas, plan to see me there.
With holly bright, and candlelight, we’ll sing without a care.
Christmas Eve, you’ll see me and we’ll never part.
I’ll be home for Christmas if only in my heart.
 
I’ll be home for Christmas, sure as sure can be
The bells will ring and angels sing of joy for you and me.
Christmas Eve I’ll be there, however far it seems.
I’ll be home for Christmas if only in my dreams.
 
Yes, they are schmaltzy.  Deal with it.
Leave a Reply

