Blue Velvet

I have finally gotten started on a new advent calendar–a thingie upon which you put an ornament every day counting down to a holiday.

I want this to be of a higher quality than the felt one I used to have.  That was gorgeous, don’t get me wrong, but I’m planning to do this one mainly in embroidery, with some other bits thrown in, and one of the things I want to do is a lace snowflake.  I tried knitting it, but the smallest needles I own produced a snowflake with about twice the diameter I wanted.  C’est la vie; I have bitten the bullet and am working on a needlelace snowflake as we speak.  When it’s done, I want to mount it on some nice deep blue velvet.

Easy, right?  Just get some scraps…yeah.  Except I’ve never worked with blue velvet, and therefore haven’t any.  I certainly don’t have the spare cash to buy a whole bunch of nice velvet in order to make something and use the scraps for the calendar; the smallest strip I am likely to be able to buy, 1/8th of a yard, will leave one of those annoying scraps that’s too big to throw away and too small to do anything with (especially because I know what kind of velvet I want to use, and any scrap larger than a square inch is “too big to throw away” in that stuff…)

One Response to “Blue Velvet”

  1. Carrie Says:

    1. wanderingpixie left…
    Friday, 2 December 2005 2:31 pm

    I have some velvet that’s kind of indigo. A little more purple than I’m thrilled with.

    Anyway, I don’t know how big a piece of scrap you would want. If it wouldn’t take much out of what I have and the color would make you happy, we can talk =)


Leave a Reply

