Iron Dragon

For the first time ever, I won a game of Iron Dragon Saturday night.

Quick primer on how Iron Dragon works: You run a railroad company in a fictional world.  You are dealt cards that say something like “Wheat to Wikkedde, 43”.  This means that if you go to a city that produces wheat and pick it up, then take it to Wikkedde, you are paid 43 gp.  You have to either draw your own track, which costs money, or rent someone else’s, which is cheap for short runs.  Runs that involve widely-separated source and destination, or which have a cargo that is only available somewhere that’s hard to get to, pay more.  You win if you have all but one of the major cities on the map connected by your rail and hold 250 gp.

I had had a string of good luck with my cards; first I had three that interlocked very neatly in the form of spells going to Railla, ale going to Railla, and ale going to Bluefeld (which is near Railla).  Then Nordkassel (also not far away from Railla) wanted pipeweed, and as Nordkassel is the (only) source of dragons I could pick up some dragons for a run to Octomare.  And since I was going to be up in the northwest anyhow, it seemed logical to pick up furs, which come from that area, for a run to Bremmner, which is right next to Octomare thanks to the Rainbow Bridge, a magical connection, which had opened not too long before between Octomare and the major city of Bremmner’s kingdom.  So I went and got my furs, getting two because it’s always handy to have an extra of a hard-to-get thing around–the K-region cities that produce furs are in arguably the most isolated kingdom on the map; K certainly rivals the P region islands and the U underground for that title. 

When I dropped off the furs, I drew a new card…which had “Furs to Orianda, 72”.  Orianda is fewer than 10 mileposts from Octomare, where I was going anyway.  And thanks to the Railla-Railla-Bluefeld run, I was at about 160 gold.

It was certainly pure serendipity, and I was lucky in that I’d gotten off to a slow start due pretty much entirely to my own silliness.  But it was fun.

Leave a Reply

