Unclear on the Concept

OK, it’s a silly thing to get upset about, and I really shouldn’t let it bother me. But this is part of every working day I have, and after a while it gets wearing.

One of my jobs is to take the batches of vouchers produced by the Accounts Payable people, and copy them so that they’ll have copies after sending the originals to the Controller’s Office, where the actual checks will be written. And one of the people who gives me these batches of vouchers seems–after a year and a half–incapable of understanding that you don’t need a two-inch-long, heavy-duty paperclip to hold two sheets of paper together. The small, thin-wire ones do very nicely; in fact, they do nicely up to the point that the number of sheets starts to deform them, at about 15.

If it were purely a matter of aesthetics, I’d shrug and get on with life. It isn’t, though; the extra thickness the clips add is significant even when using the small ones. This means that every single batch has a big bulge in the upper-left corner, making it harder to form a stable stack of more than about 3 batches or put a number of batches in an inter-office envelope. The problem is exacerbated by a tendency to position every paperclip at exactly the same distance from the corner, so they’re all lined up, one atop the other.

For eighteen months I’ve been removing the neatly-lined-up large paperclips and replacing them with staggered small ones. With no effect whatsoever. It’s enough to make me wonder what passes for brains around here. I realize this is dumb and probably elitist. It still bugs me.OK, it’s a silly thing to get upset about, and I really shouldn’t let it bother me. But this is part of every working day I have, and after a while it gets wearing. One of my jobs is to take the batches of vouchers produced by the Accounts Payable people, and copy them so that they’ll have copies after sending the originals to the Controller’s Office, where the actual checks will be written. And one of the people who gives me these batches of vouchers seems–after a year and a half–incapable of understanding that you don’t need a two-inch-long, heavy-duty paperclip to hold two sheets of paper together. The small, thin-wire ones do very nicely; in fact, they do nicely up to the point that the number of sheets starts to deform them, at about 15. If it were purely a matter of aesthetics, I’d shrug and get on with life. It isn’t, though; the extra thickness the clips add is significant even when using the small ones. This means that every single batch has a big bulge in the upper-left corner, making it harder to form a stable stack of more than about 3 batches or put a number of batches in an inter-office envelope. The problem is exacerbated by a tendency to position every paperclip at exactly the same distance from the corner, so they’re all lined up, one atop the other. For eighteen months I’ve been removing the neatly-lined-up large paperclips and replacing them with staggered small ones. With no effect whatsoever.

It’s enough to make me wonder what passes for brains around here. I realize this is dumb and probably elitist. It still bugs me.

Leave a Reply

