If It Weren’t for Bad Luck

A woman on the radio this morning was being interviewed about people who change their jobs–I didn’t catch why exactly, but it sounded like something to do with how soul-destroying a lot of jobs are. Anyway, at one point she said, “Lucky for her she only needs about $1500 a month to cover her expenses.”

To which I respond, huh? I’m going to assume that “expenses” means ‘rent, food and utilities’ rather than ‘optional things after the basics have been covered’, but still. I knew I was poor, but I didn’t realize I was that poor.

Leave a Reply

