A Who What Now?

One of the jobs I’d like to apply for in the county requires both a cover letter and a writing sample. Cover letter I can do, no problem, but what in this context is a “writing sample”? Am I to philosophize upon the transmutation of lead into gold? Should I try to explain some complex process, such as creating a D&D character? Should I write about why I want the job (and if so, isn’t that the realm of the cover letter, explicitly requested)? Or maybe they want my musings about office management. I have no idea, and no way to find out, really, which leaves me unable to apply for the job despite the fact that I have the required degree in “Communications, Political Science, Journalism or related field”.

One Response to “A Who What Now?”

  1. cschutrick Says:

    (This comment was on the original post on BlogCity, and is being reposted here verbatim)

    Trevor said:
    What’s the job you’re applying to? If it’s a writing position (which would make sense, given that they want a writing sample), it’s a good bet that what they want is something that would be similar to what you’d be writing in the position.

    Example: let’s say you’re applying for a job on SportsCenter. They ask for a writing sample. I think it’s safe to assume they want script copy of something that you’d write for broadcast, something about a recent sports story. How to, for example, create a D&D character would seem to me to be out of place.


Leave a Reply

